Andalucia’s Famous Wine Area Map

Andalucía

The ancient lands of southwestern Spain have been planted to vineyards for nearly 3,000 years. But this part of Iberia was long under the control of the Moors and Islam, and winemaking was discouraged if not outright forbidden here from 711 to 1492.

To most visitors, Andalucía appears as more moonscape than landscape; hot and arid, rugged and hard. But Andalucía’s mountains carry other possibilities. With abrupt shifts in elevation, fascinating dessert wines have been produced within areas in Montilla-Moriles and Málaga.

And Andalucía’s most famous wine area, Jerez (Sherry), receives more rainfall than most other parts of southern Spain. That rain is captured by the special limestone-rich soils of the area, called albariza, that bake in the summer sun into a hard crust, trapping cool moisture for the vines’ needs.

Sherry’s multiplicity is a bewildering obstacle for too many people. It’s actually simple: Sherry is fortified wine. It’s fortified after the fermentation, so unlike Port, all Sherry begins its life as a dry wine.

Condado de Huelva is an old DO in south-western Andalucia, close to the border with Portugal. In the southern section of the DO lies the Coto de Doñana, a natural wetland and ornithologists' paradise now classified as a natural park.

County of Huelva enjoys ideal conditions for growing grapes: mild in winter and spring and long, hot summers of evident Atlantic influence, with an average annual temperature in the region of 17 ° C and oscillating relative humidity between 60% and 80%.

MORE >

This classic DO, known for centuries for its sweet fortified wines made from Moscatel and Pedro Ximénez grapes, is holding its own remarkably well after decades of recession under the pressure of tourism.

Geographically, the DO forms a T-shape, with the vineyards running along the coast to the east of Málaga city, and back up towards the sierras. A smaller third subzone lies to the west of the city.

MORE >

Montilla-Moriles lies at the centre of a historical triangle that may be drawn between Granada, Seville and Córdoba city. It lies in Córdoba province. Today the vines share the space with wheat and olives to give the classical Mediterranean trilogy: bread, wine and oil.

Its wines are often wrongly though it of simply as another Sherry, although its history is as distinguished as that of its more famous Sherry neighbour. The main grape, Pedro Ximénez, makes it distinct.

MORE >

Jerez-Xérès-Sherry and Manzanilla-Sanlúcar de Barrameda, both situated in the province of Cadiz, are separate DOs that share the same vineyards and Regulatory Council (Consejo Regulador), established in 1933. They also share similar traditional methods of winemaking based on the Solera and Criaderas system, a method of dynamic ageing in butts (oak barrels) which allows young wines to take on the characteristics of older ones.

Jerez has exported wines since at least Roman times, and today its wines account for the greatest volume of any Spanish DO exports. They are sold in more than fifty countries. The enormous international commercial success of these wines is, to a large degree, due to the long export tradition of great wineries, the broad consumer range and the wine's exceptional quality, which has its source in the unique winemaking and ageing processes.

MORE >

安达卢西亚

安达卢西亚

在西班牙西南部的古老土地上,葡萄的种植历史已有近3000年了。不过从711年到1492年,该地区处于摩尔人和伊斯兰教的长期控制之下,即使没有被完全禁止,酿酒的工作仍然举步维艰。

对大多数游客来说,安达卢西亚看上去更像月球而不是地球。这里炎热干旱,道路崎岖又怪石嶙峋。但是安达卢西亚的山脉带来了其他可能性,随着海拔的突然变化,在蒙的亚-莫利莱斯和马拉加地区生产着迷人的甜酒。

而且,安达卢西亚最著名的葡萄酒产区赫雷斯(雪利酒)的降雨量,比西班牙南部其他大部分地区都要多。雨水被该地区特殊的富含石灰石的白垩土壤(称为albariza)捕获,在夏日的阳光烘烤下结成硬壳,牢牢地锁住了葡萄藤所需的凉爽水分。

雪利酒的多元性对于太多人来说都难以理解。实际上很简单:雪利酒是加强型葡萄酒。它是在发酵后被强化的,所以与波特酒不同:所有的雪利酒都是从干型葡萄酒开始的。

韦尔瓦伯爵领地是安达卢西亚西南部的一个历史悠久的产区,靠近葡萄牙边境。产区南部是一处名为Coto de Doñana的天然湿地,那里是鸟类学家的天堂,现在被归为自然公园。

韦尔瓦县享有种植葡萄的理想条件: 冬季和春季气候温和,夏季时间长且炎热,并有大西洋气候的明显影响,年平均温度17°C,相对湿度在60%至80%之间浮动。

更多 >

该传统产区因其由麝香葡萄和佩德罗-希梅内斯葡萄酿造而成的加强型甜葡萄酒而闻名数个世纪。当产业在旅游业的压力下经历了数十年的衰退之后,该产区仍表现出色。

从地理上看,该产区形成了一个T形,葡萄园沿着马拉加市东部的海岸延伸,然后向山脉方向折回。一个较小的第三分区位于该市的西部。

更多 >

蒙的亚-莫利莱斯位于格拉纳达、塞维利亚和科尔多瓦市之间的历史三角中心,属于科尔多瓦省。如今,这片土地上生长着葡萄藤、小麦与橄榄,出产地中海地区的经典三样:面包,葡萄酒和橄榄油。

虽然该产区的历史与其更出名的邻居一样辉煌,但人们常简单误以为该产区的葡萄酒只是另一种雪莉酒。但是,它主要由佩德罗-希梅内斯葡萄酿制而成,所以与雪莉是不同的。

更多 >

赫雷斯及圣卢卡尔-德-巴拉梅达均位于加的斯省,是两个独立的产区,但拥有相同的葡萄园,并同属一个成立于1933年的管理委员会(Consejo Regulador)。两个产区的传统酿制方法也有相似之处,均以索莱拉培养层法为基础,这是一种在酒桶(橡木桶)中进行动态陈化的方法,使年轻的酒带上更久经陈酿的风味特点。

赫雷斯至少从罗马时代就开始出口葡萄酒,如今它的葡萄酒占据西班牙原产地名称保护产区葡萄酒出口量的最大份额,远销50多个国家。这些葡萄酒在国际上所取得的巨大商业成功,很大程度上归功于大酒庄悠久的出口葡萄酒历史,广泛的消费群体以及葡萄酒的卓越品质,而这些都源于独特的酿酒和陈年工艺。

更多 >