Duero River Valley Wine Area Map

Duero River Valley

Castilla y León is the political name of this area, but most of the greatest wines are from vineyards around the Duero River. Indeed Spain’s most famed winery, Vega Sicilia, anchors the DO known as Ribera del Duero (meaning, the “banks of the River Duero”), fueled by the ubiquitous Tempranillo grape, Spain’s most planted red. The Duero River travels 460 miles from high in the Sistema Ibérico, forms part of the border between Spain and Portugal and then empties into the Atlantic at Oporto, a town that gives its name to a famous Portuguese fortified wine.

The table wines grown along its banks are nearly as intense as Port but are far more practical at the table. Roasted lamb and goat are genius here, and the cold Atlantic seems far away in climate and cuisine.This is high elevation viticulture: days are warm or even hot; nights are cold. Ripening is slowed; the wines become rich and ripe but hang on to their dusty, astringent structure. The less expensive wines are for immediate, delicious drinking; the top wines (Vega Sicilia, Pingus, Pesquera and many others) can last decades.

Arlanza is located in the provinces of Burgos and Palencia, Castile and Leon, Spain. The DO takes its name from the river Arlanza which flows through it.

The first written evidence of wine production in this area comes from the 12th century, when the monastery of Santa María de Bujedo de Juarros purchased vineyards on the banks of the rivers Arlanza and Duero.

MORE >

The valleys and terraces of the Douro River on the border with Portugal are home to this winegrowing area, which includes 47 towns and villages from the provinces of Zamora and Salamanca.

The Control Board of the Arribes Designation of Origin was recognised on 27 July 2007.

MORE >

Bierzo is located in the northeast of the region of Castilla and Leon; specifically in the province of Leon. It borders both Galicia and Asturias, with the northeastern delimitation bordering the provinces of Orense and Lugo, and with Asturias to the north.

Geographically, the zone is ideally located between the coast and the interior, which has motivated the settlement of various towns and civilizations throughout history. The vineyards are strategically placed on terraces of relatively low inclination next to the rivers, on hillsides and on pronounced inclinations with an average height of between 450 and 1.000 meters. The semi humid climate and mild temperatures are prime for grapevine growing.

MORE >

Cigales has always been associated with aromatic & rosé wines. But once the area was granted DO status, producers began to show an interest in making red wines as well, following the example of other Duero valley DOs, and, above all, given the enormous potential of the region's reigning variety, Tempranillo, also known here as Tinta del País.

Certainly, the soil, climate and grapes of this small growing area (still less than 3,000 hectares) as well as the first results attained by the bodegas, promise well for the future. In fact, the DO Regulatory Council is presently drafting new regulations that will include other varieties - Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot for reds, and Sauvignon Blanc for rosés - to enhance the wines.

MORE >

The Ribera del Duero is blessed by a combination of terroir, microclimate and a native grape that gives superb, complex red wines.

At this altitude Tempranillo (also known as Tinta del País or Tinto Fino) gives thin-skinned and refreshingly acid fruit, which in turn gives wines that are delicious when they are young but also have the capacity to age into magnficent Gran Reservas. 

MORE >

The Denomination of Origin Rueda was approved by the Ministry of Agriculture on January 12, 1980; it was the first Denomination of Origin to be approved in the Region of Castilla y León, after years of hard work in order to earn acknowledgement and protection for its autochthonous grape variety: the Verdejo.

The Denomination of Origin Rueda possesses exceptional natural resources for the production of top-quality wines. Specialised in making internationally renowned white wines. Also, from the 5 of August of 2008 the red wines and rosé are protected by the Denomination of Origin Rueda.

MORE >

Tierra de León Protected Designation of Origin born on July of 2007, but the existence of a characteristic grape and wines variety in this area comes to the Roman Era, lots of centuries ago.

The production area, with 1,413 Ha, is situated on the south of León and part of the north of Valladolid provinces. It is under the influence of Esla and Cea riverside.

MORE >

The region known as “Tierra del Vino” – or “the land of wine” – is located in Castile-León , at the southeast of the province of Zamora. It lies on both banks of the Duero river.

It covers a total surface area of 1,799 square kilometers, which extends throughout a total of 56 boroughs, 46 of which belong to the province of Zamora and 10 more to the province of Salamanca.

MORE >

As a historic winemaking area Toro has made a huge comeback in the last twenty years. Its rich, ripe and powerful red wines, based on the native Tinta de Toro grape, began to show their potential after a new generation of trained oenologists began work here and the necessary investment was made in stainless steel equipment.

There has also been a continuous upgrading of harvesting methods in the last decade. Its evolution over recent decades has placed this wine as protagonist of the magma of wine reviews at both national and international levels.

MORE >

杜埃罗河

杜埃罗河谷

卡斯蒂利亚·莱昂(Castilla y León)是该地区的政治名称,但大多数最伟大的葡萄酒都来自杜埃罗河周围的葡萄园。的确,西班牙最著名的酒庄Vega Sicilia就位于这个被称之为杜埃罗河岸(Ribera del Duero)的产区,这里的葡萄酒由西班牙种植最多的丹魄葡萄酿造而成。杜埃罗河起源于伊比利亚山脉的高处,流经460英里,贯穿西班牙和葡萄牙之间的边界,在波尔图汇入大西洋,葡萄牙著名的强化葡萄酒(波特酒)因该镇而得名。

沿河岸酿造的佐餐葡萄酒几乎与波特酒一样浓郁,在餐桌上却更加实用。烤羔羊和山羊是这里最棒的食物,看起来寒冷的大西洋在气候和美食上对该地区无甚影响。这里是高海拔的葡萄栽培方式:白天温暖甚至炎热,晚上寒冷,成熟缓慢;葡萄酒变得丰富和成熟,但仍然保持着它粉质和收敛性的结构感。物美价廉的葡萄酒可立即饮用,顶级葡萄酒(Vega Sicilia、Pingus、Pesquera等)可以持续陈年数十年。

阿尔兰萨位于西班牙卡斯蒂利亚-莱昂的布尔戈斯省和帕伦西亚省,名字来自流经该产区的阿尔兰萨河。

该地区酿制葡萄酒的最早书面记录可以追溯到12世纪,当时,布赫多德华罗斯 的圣玛丽亚修道院在阿尔兰萨河和杜埃罗河畔购买了葡萄园。

更多 >

该葡萄种植区位于杜埃罗河与葡萄牙接壤的山谷和梯田中,包括来自萨莫拉省和萨拉曼卡省的47个城镇和村庄。

阿里维斯原产地名称保护管理委员会于2007年7月27日获得许可成立。

更多 >

比埃尔索位于卡斯蒂利亚-莱昂地区的西北部,更确切一些说是位于莱昂省。它与加利西亚和阿斯图里亚斯接壤,西边与奥伦塞和卢戈省接壤,北边与阿斯图里亚斯接壤。

从地理位置来看,该地区处在海岸和内陆之间的理想位置,这吸引了历史上各个时期的数个城镇和文明安置于此。葡萄园战略性地分布在河流旁坡度较低的梯田、山腰和陡峭的的山坡上,平均高度在450到1000米之间。半湿润的气候以及温和的温度为酿酒葡萄的生长提供了极好条件。

更多 >

一直以来,希加雷斯就与芳香的葡萄酒及桃红葡萄酒息息相关。当该地区被授予原产地名称保护之后,像杜埃罗河谷地带的其他法定产区一样,希加雷斯的生产者们开始表现出对酿造红葡萄酒的兴趣,特别是丹魄这一当地主要葡萄品种的巨大潜力已得到公认。在这里丹魄被叫作“Tinta del País”。

毫无疑问,这个小型种植区(面积仍然不到3000公顷)的土壤、气候和葡萄,以及酒庄酿制的第一批葡萄酒,预示着该产区未来的美好发展前景。事实上,原产地名称保护管理委员会目前正在起草新的法规,将其他葡萄品种包括进来:赤霞珠和美乐可用于酿造红葡萄酒;长相思可用于酿造桃红葡萄酒,希望以此来增强葡萄酒的品质。

更多 >

风土、微气候加上可酿造品质一流且复杂的红葡萄酒的本土葡萄品种,这黄金组合眷顾着杜罗河岸。

在这个海拔高度上,丹魄(在当地被称为Tinta del País或者Tinto Fino)的果实皮厚,酸度清爽,这使得用其酿造的年轻葡萄酒口感极佳,同时也可经陈年成为出色的特级珍藏葡萄酒。

更多 >

卢埃达法定产区于1980年1月12日获得农业部批准,并且是第一个在卡斯蒂利亚-莱昂地区获得批准的法定产区。当地种植酿造者经过多年的努力,终于赢得了对本土葡萄品种“弗德乔”的认可和保护。

卢埃达拥有独特的自然资源,可生产顶级的葡萄酒,特别是国际知名的白葡萄酒。从2008年8月5日起,红葡萄酒和桃红葡萄酒也纳入卢埃达原产地名称保护产区的范畴。

更多 >

莱昂领地原产地名称保护产区于2007年7月建立,但这个地区独特的葡萄品种和葡萄酒可以追溯到多个世纪以前的罗马时代。

生产区域为1,413公顷,地处莱昂省南部以及巴利亚多利德省北部的部分地区,受埃斯拉河及斯尔河影响。

更多 >

这个被称为“Tierra del Vino”(西班牙语意为:葡萄酒之地)的地区 - 或“葡萄酒之乡” - 位于卡斯蒂利亚-莱昂,在萨莫拉省的东南部,坐落于杜埃罗河两岸。

总面积1,799平方公里,共有56个行政区,其中46个属于萨莫拉省,10个属于萨拉曼卡省。

更多 >

作为历史悠久的葡萄酒酿造地区,托罗在最近的二十年中强势回归。其丰富、成熟和强劲的红葡萄酒以本土的托罗红葡萄(丹魄在当地的名称)为基础,在新一代训练有素的酿酒师在这里工作,并且在不锈钢设备上进行必要的投资之后,开始显现其巨大的潜力。

在过去十年中,葡萄采摘的方法也不断得到改进。近几十年来的发展已使它成为国内外葡萄酒评论界热捧的主角。

更多 >